About Christina Skye

roberta-headshotChristina Skye loves the power of the written word.

The New York Times bestselling author of 36 novels, 7 novellas and one audio story is a pushover for Harris tweed, Scottish cashmere, Shanghai street dumplings, French macarons and dark chocolate.

Not always in that order.

After receiving her doctorate in classical Chinese literature, she worked for five crazy years as a writer, translator and consultant to travel companies, importers, museums and magazines, including the National Geographic Society, the Asia Society and the American Museum of Natural History, spending most of that time in Asia. Her mileage points were awesome. In 1984 she co-curated the most popular traveling exhibition ever held at the National Geographic Society.

In 1990 she sold her first novel in six days. Since then she has written five different series for six different publishers. She has appeared on ABC Worldwide News, Travel News Network, the Arthur Frommer Show, Geraldo, Voice of America, Looking East, and Good Morning, Arizona.

In 2013 The Accidental Bride was chosen as one of the ten best romance novels of the year by prestigious Booklist Magazine. Reviewer John Charles wrote:

“Rich with realistically complex characters and subtle wit, the latest addition to Skye’s Summer Island series is as warm and comforting as a well-knit afghan. Skye perfectly captures the feel and appeal of small-town life, and this sweetly satisfying romance is an excellent read-alikes suggestion for fans of Debbie Macomber’s Cedar Cove series or Robyn Carr’s Virgin River books.”

The book also received a reviewer’s choice award from Romantic Times Magazine.

She is currently working on a New Adult paranormal series and 4 more books in her popular Summer Island contemporary series, set on the ruggedly beautiful Oregon coast.

She loves to cook, hike, collect vintage textiles and uncover odd historical tidbits that she can weave into her storylines. Usually her knitting is right beside her while she writes. “The force of color and texture running through my fingers helps me concentrate on the flow of a book while a story unfolds at its deepest level.”

In 2015 she will release five books in her new Brides Club contemporary series.